College Of Marin Serves Students Of All Ages
Anyone 18 years of age or older, with or without a high school diploma, is eligible to enroll at College of Marin. For information concerning enrollment of students under age 18 who are not currently enrolled in high school or lower and without a diploma (or equivalent), contact the Enrollment Services Office email@example.com or the Counseling Office firstname.lastname@example.org.
Residence Requirements for Admission
In general, to be considered a resident for tuition purposes, a student must have lived in California for 366 days (one year and one day) immediately preceding the residence determination date. The student must also provide documentation (as defined by the California Education Code) proving the student's intention to make California the student's permanent home. The residency determination date is the day before the semester begins.
California Residency Requirements
Under the State of California Education Code, to establish California residency, a person must document both:
- Objective proof of physical presence one year and one day prior to the first day of instruction for the term for which he/she has applied, as indicated in the Schedule of Important Dates, and
- Intent to make California his/her permanent home. Act of intent must be accomplished for one full year. Evidence of intent to make California their permanent home could include, but is not limited to a minimum of two (2) of the following:
- Voting in California elections
- Obtaining a California driver’s license
- Paying state income tax
- Registering a motor vehicle in California
- Maintaining continuous residence in California
College of Marin may determine—at the time of admission or at a later date—that such students may not have met the residence requirements for California community colleges. Such students will subsequently be assessed and billed the nonresident tuition fee per unit at the current academic year rate.
Students who have not reached the age of 18 years are regarded as minors; their residence is that of one or both parents. Therefore, a student who is a minor is regarded as a resident of California only if one or both parents meet the California residency requirements as specified above.
Special residence regulations are in effect for married minors, for minors whose parents are deceased, for certain military members and their dependents, and for various others. Contact our office for more information.
Continuing nonresident students at College of Marin (with the exception of international students), who think that they meet the time and intent requirements necessary to establish California residency must contact the Office of Enrollment Services for residency verification and adjustments.
There are other factors to be considered for non-resident students holding various types of visas. These students are advised to contact the Office of Enrollment Services, at (415) 457-8811 ext. 8822, for clarification.
Residency adjustments are not automatic. It is the student’s responsibility to initiate a residency inquiry and to provide proof of California residency.
Students may appeal their residency status as determined by College of Marin through the following procedures:
- Requests must be addressed, in writing, to the Dean of Enrollment Services, within two weeks of receipt of the notification.
- If further review is required, a meeting with the Dean of Enrollment Services may be requested.
- Students are required to provide ALL documents necessary to verify their residency status.
AB540/AB2000/Dream Act Nonresident Tuition Waiver
AB540 is a state law that exempts certain students who are not residents of California from paying nonresident tuition at the California Community Colleges. As a nonresident, you may be eligible to pay the $46 per unit California resident enrollment fee.
Who is eligible?
Students who meet all of the following requirements:
- You attended a California high school for three or more years.
- You graduated from a California high school or attained the equivalent of a high school diploma from California, e.g., the G.E.D. or California High School Proficiency Exam (CHSPE).
- You registered in the spring of 2002 or later.
- You completed a California Nonresident Tuition Exemption Form (AB540/AB2000).
If you have been determined to be a nonresident of California and meet all of the above requirements, please complete the California Nonresident Tuition Exemption Form and submit it to the Enrollment Services Office. Please contact the Enrollment Services Office if you need help filling out the form.